November 5, 2010 – 10:30 a.m. (Final Approved 03/03/11)


November 5, 2010, 10:30 a.m. CST

Chairman Bleau LaFave opened the South Dakota One Call Notification Board Meeting with the Call to Order and Roll Call at 10:30 a.m., CST, at the AmericInn, Ft. Pierre, SD.

Board Members in attendance: Bleau LaFave, Northwestern Energy, Chairman; Kurt Pfeifle, Mid-Dakota Rural Water System, Vice Chairman; Erin Hayes, Midcontinent Communications; Fay Jandreau, Midstate Communications; Todd Chambers, Watertown Municipal Utilities; Doug Larson, Northern Border Pipeline; Dan Kaiser, Qwest; Kevin Kouba, Otter Tail Power Co; Eugene Solseth, Hills Septic Service; Legal Counsel:  Kara Semmler;  Executive Director: Larry Janes.  Board Members Unavailable were: Ed Anderson, SD Rural Electric Association and Terry Larson, Heavy Constructors. Also in attendance were: Public Utilities Commissioner, Steve Kolbeck and Patty Ven Gerpen, Executive Director, Public Utilities Commission.

Chairman Bleau LaFave welcomed Commissioner Kolbeck and Ms. Van Gerpen to the South Dakota One Call Board Meeting.

Commissioner Kolbeck mentioned that the Commission has reconsidered their suggestion of reorganization of the SD One Call Board.

Commissioner Kolbeck requested that the SD One Call Board consider several changes in its policies including changes in complaint docket filings, roll call voting, web casting of Board meetings, and several other Board policies.  After some discussion of these items, Chairman LaFave appointed a committee of himself, Dan Kaiser, Erin Hayes, Kevin Kouba, and Todd Chambers to research each of the items.  The Executive Director will arrange for a conference call to discuss.

Being no further business Kevin Kouba made a motion to adjourn.  Dan Kaiser seconded the motion.  Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Materials presented at this meeting are available by contacting the Executive Director in writing at or by calling (605) 339-0529.